Margherita Eggs with Spinach – Recipe

IMG_0562-1

I bought a large container of spinach recently so I’ve been thinking of ways to use it other than in smoothies. I’m not one for cooked spinach usually so I’m going out of my comfort zone a bit. This morning I was craving scrambled eggs so I decided to add spinach in.

Since it’s the texture of wilted spinach that I don’t usually like, I decided to purée it. Then when I saw the colour I decided to add some basil, Italian cheese blend and top with fresh tomato. Therefore I have Margherita pizza inspired eggs. They were quite delicious!

Recipe:
3 eggs
Dash of milk
1 cup puréed spinach
Basil to taste (fresh is best)
1/4 cup cheese (I used a shredded Italian blend)
1 chopped seeded tomato
1 tsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Method:
Heat up oil in a frying pan over medium high heat
Mix eggs with milk and whisk in a small bowl
When frying pan is hot add eggs and stir
When the eggs are partway done, add spinach, basil and cheese, salt and pepper
Stir until eggs are no longer liquid
Serve with tomatoes
Enjoy!

IMG_0564-0

 

Leave a Reply

