Book Reviews – Orange is the New Black

oitnb

 

I read this book a while back when I was going through withdrawals after binge watching season two of the show the book is based on. Initially when I found out that the series was based on a book I didn’t want to read it right away so as not to spoil the series, but in this case the need was too strong (and there is enough differentiation to not really spoil much).

In case you are living under a rock, Orange is the New Black (OITNB) is a Netflix series about life in a women’s prison. There is much more to it than that of course and if you have not yet seen the show I suggest you get on that post haste. The series is based on the memoir of the same name by Piper Kerman.

There are similarities to the series (or course) but unsurprisingly there are also dramatic liberties to the series as well. I can’t honestly say if I would have enjoyed the book as much if it were a stand alone product, probably not. All I can really say is that I am glad that it inspired Jenji Kohan to create the series as I really love it bunches and bunches. The book I do recommend reading, but it’s only pretty good especially when compared to the series.

2 thoughts on “Book Reviews – Orange is the New Black

  1. I was wondering about this book. The show was so hyped I put it off and just started watching the series last week. I’m already done with the first season! It’s so good and so addictive. Are there big spoilers in the book?

Leave a Reply

