Book Reviews – Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

madBack  near the beginning of January I got a concussion after some kid cut in front of me at the ice rink and I bumped my head. The Dr sentenced me to several days of complete rest including no reading, no TV and no phone.  I decided that there was no way I could sit in a dark room with silence for all that time so I decided to download an audio book. I had previously decided to no longer buy audio books after losing them all when my phone died (why on earth I can’t re-download them like everything else I don’t know, thanks apple) but I have never been too good at sticking to my guns so here I am with another audio book review.

I just finished listening to this and I will be honest that I have reviews for 5 other books that I have finished reading sitting in my drafts folder but I have been experiencing a bit of writer’s block in getting any of the reviews up. If I want to be Bridget Jones style honest, the drafts contain only the titles of the books lest I forget what I have already read this year.

We are moving to a new home next Friday so of course I have also caught a cold because nothing can ever be easy. Last night I was sitting there thinking of all the reviews I have yet to write and thinking that I might not get any done before the move, which would mean no reviews until March. This is my fifth year in Cannonball read and I don’t think I have ever posted my first review so late. But enough prattle, time to get to my thoughts on the latest (and hopefully last) Bridget Jones book.

I don’t want to say that I hated it, because I liked it somewhat but I also kind of hated it and I hate that I spent around $30 on the audio version because I think I would have liked it more if I could have read it in my own voice. Samantha Bond has a lovely voice but I found some of the character voices grating (the daughter with the lisp especially so). I really think I would have enjoyed the book much more if I had read it rather than listened to it. Maybe this will be my last audio book for a while (likely mostly due to the cost).

Some other issues I had with the book were the ages of some of the characters. It seems I am not the only one. I don’t think it made a lot of sense that she had children in her late 40s. Did her and Mark not get together in her late 30s? Then why did they wait almost 10 years to have kids? I know some people do chose to have kids late, but it just didn’t make a lot of sense to me.  Even making her 5 years younger would have worked a lot more in my opinion. The same thing can be said of her “toyboy” as that character to me seemed more like someone in his mid 20s rather than just turning 30. Also one would think that by the age of 51, Bridget would have seen more personal growth, but the character was pretty much the same old Jonesy.

I guess that is the point really, I found the whole thing very formulaic. I could see the plot and the end really clearly throughout, and it was more of the same. I know with novels of a series, a certain amount of sameness is to be expected, but without enough newness what is the point?

Overall, I was mildly entertained but ultimately underwhelmed. But it gave me enough fire to finish my first review of 2014. The rest of the drafts will still be waiting there for me after my move is over.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

