Protein Brownies

To help curb all my night munchies of candy cookies and crap I decided to do some healthy baking. I have a bit of a baking gift, I don’t really need to follow a recipe and things generally still turn out amazing. I decided to try to make some protein brownies so that I could fulfill whatever I was missing that keeps making me overeat at night. Also I figure that if I overeat something with decent nutrients in it, that is better than just eating junk.

IMG_5167[1]

I was inspired by this recipe but then made it my own. The comments suggested using pumpkin instead of the banana and I also wanted to fill out the recipe by adding oat flour and walnut flour.

So here is my recipe:

2 Scoops Vega One Chocolate

2 Tbsp Chocolate Hemp Protein

3 Tbsp Ground Flax

3 Tbsp Chia Seeds

2 Tbsp Carob Powder (Raw is best)

2 Cups Oats ground into flour consistency (I use my food processor and run it until they are nice and powdery)

15 Walnuts ground into flour consistency as above

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp Agave or other sweetener to taste

1 Small Can Pumpkin (About 1.5 cups)

Vegan Milk as needed for consistency, I used about 1/2 Cup. I used Coconut Milk Beverage but almond, rice, hemp or anything like that would work.

-Preheat your oven to 350

-Put all of the above into the bowl except the milk. Stir your ingredients and add milk a bit at a time until you get a nice consistency. It should not be too wet or too dry. Slightly more moist than a cookie dough is how I made mine.

-Put into a greased pan (I used coconut oil, spread it with your hands then you get a bonus of softer hands after!)

-Bake for 20-30 mins until the edges are nice and golden brown

-Should make around 25-35 small brownies

– I will keep mine in the fridge and they will last at least a week, if you don’t eat them all that is! See below for nutrition info per brownie (will vary depending on how big you cut them of course. This is based off of 24 brownies per pan)

cals

Leave a Reply

