Book Reviews: Wizard and Glass by Stephen King

wiz and glass

Ok so this is my last pending book review. In all honesty I started reading this book last year then didn’t finish. It is on my nook which I had put aside for a while but I packed it up on my recent trip to Jamaica and finished reading it on the beach (and in my cabin during a hellish day of heat exhaustion). Wizard and Glass is the 4th book in the Dark Tower Series. Here are the links to my reviews of the first three books.

It should go without saying that if you have not read the series and plan to that a review of book 4 will likely contain some spoilers.

Wizard and Glass doesn’t move the story along very much as most of it takes place in flashback to Roland’s youth. Not to say that Roland’s story was not interesting but it did drag on for a really long time. I guess reading the Dark Tower is a journey in and of itself. We get to see how Roland became a gunslinger, and his days riding with his two closest compatriots and how he fell in love for the first time. It is a lovely and heartbreaking tale, we know most of Roland’s associates are doomed but once we get to know them through the book it is hard to see their inevitable fate.

Even though there is not much progress in the big picture story of this series, Wizard and Glass was a vivid tale that I enjoyed reading and I look forward to working my way through the remaining four books in this saga. Now that I am all caught up on reviews I can get back to reading!

One thought on “Book Reviews: Wizard and Glass by Stephen King

  1. Pingback: Alli’s #CBR5 Review #9:Wizard and Glass by Stephen King | Cannonball Read V

Leave a Reply

