Book Reviews – The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

download (2)
So this is the book that made me get off my butt and write my reviews that I had pending. After I write this I will be officially up to date on my book reviews (unless I have forgotten one but I don’t think that is the case because I haven’t had much emotional energy for reading this year due to my work stress). I am so happy that things are looking up for me because now that I have read a couple of books I remember how much I really do enjoy reading. There is nothing quite like when you find a book that just sucks you right in and before you know it you have read a whole book in a day.  The Silver Linings Playbook was that kind of book for me.

I didn’t realize that this was also a book. I watched the movie a few months ago and quite enjoyed it although I found some parts slightly flawed. The book gave me similar feelings. I enjoyed the differences between the book and the movie and I think the two stand alone on their own merits. For anyone not familiar, this is a story of Pat Peoples who returns home after a stay in a neural health facility. He is taken home by his mother and lives a life filled with running, exercise, and trying to keep it together. His family life is flawed, his Dad is extremely emotionally distant and his mother tries to cover it up by being extra accommodating to everyone and not acknowledging the problems that exist.

Pat soon meets Tiffany through an awkward dinner where Pat’s friend tries to set the two up as a couple. Pat is not interested because he believes that he can reconcile with his wife. Tiffany is also emotionally damaged due to being traumatically widowed at a young age. The two forge an odd friendship although both have unusual ways of showing it.

Football is also a character in this book, Eagles football to be precise. I am anti-sports so it did grate on me a bit, although some of it was endearing, like the Asian Invasion. Pat’s father in particular takes great stock in football, and the family knows that his moods will vary greatly depending on the outcome of the football game.

I obviously enjoyed this book quite a lot as I chewed it up in a single day just on my breaks and on my commute (thank goodness for skytrain days). There was just something about this book and the way it was written that really just did it for me. Also I think I preferred the plot of the book version a bit better, the ending was much better in my taste, but more subtle like a book usually is but really sweet and more in tune with the way the characters would act. I still think the movie was also great, perhaps mostly due to the performances. I think I will give it another watch with my new perspective having read the book.

3 thoughts on “Book Reviews – The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

  1. Pingback: Alli’s #CBR5 Review #5 – The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick | Cannonball Read V

  2. My mom LOVES this movie so we’ve watched it so many times in the short amount of time that it’s even been out. Every time I read it a book it’s better than the movie, but I just can’t get myself to get this one even when I’ve carried it around the entire bookstore.

Leave a Reply

