June is Reboot Month!!

Image

So again I have lapsed in my blogging but these things do happen. I would really like to write more as it really does motivate me and keep me accountable. I also have a few book reviews to write for my CBR community but those will have to wait a bit longer as my work situation is still very stressful. I am trying to read more books as well as I really do enjoy reading, but I find myself mentally drained a lot of the time. But I think work is not totally responsible for that, and that brings me to the main reason for today’s post.

Without getting into too much detail, the past month has been extra stressful at work so although I was doing well with my health and wellness, I did fall back down the rabbit hole and ate very poorly and did not exercise much at all. The result of that was a depression that I am pleased to say I have nipped in the bud by recognizing it early and taking steps that I knew would correct it.

What my partner and I decided to do was to have June be a reboot, an opportunity to refocus on our goals and get back to where we both want to be. He has his own goals which are similar to mine but it is great that we can both be doing this together to support each other.

My plan is as follows: no processed foods, no white sugar, no alcohol, no dairy, no unhealthy breads. I am already a lacto-vegetarian but I have been really wanting to cut out the dairy as well for a long time. I can’t really tolerate milk or ice cream but I do enjoy cheese. However most of the time when I do have cheese it is pizza or something unhealthy like that. Since I have dairy sensitivities already I am interested to see what cutting it out will do to my system. Also I have heard that people who have dairy sensitivities also have gluten sensitivities so I am avoiding most of that as well. I am now 6 days in and I feel wonderful already and I have lost 6 lbs (granted I gained 5 last month during my lapse but it is still progress and I am happy to see it.) Likely my loss will slow down as my body adjusts to my new eating habits but weight loss is really a side effect of the other things I want to accomplish, health and vitality.

So far I haven’t been too concerned with exercise, I am focusing on diet and stress reduction techniques. I have an app called GPS for the Soul which I find very helpful to me in times of stress. You can take heart rate readings with it and go through guides that are designed to calm and reduce stress or maintain a feeling of balance. In addition to that, I am trying to decide on a mantra to assist me when I become stressed, I have read that simply repeating a phrase in your head and focusing on breathing in difficult times can be helpful.

All in all I am excited about changes ahead and I look forward to becoming more of myself again. I cannot change my circumstances but I can control how I react to them.

2 thoughts on “June is Reboot Month!!

  1. Good for you! I’m trying to do something similar – I need to get back into it and finish losing the weight, keep getting better at running, and eat in a more healthful fashion! I enjoyed your blog post – definitely inspiring me to keep going!

Leave a Reply

