Today is a New Day

I am not going to waste more than this sentence talking about how I fell off the wagon and blabbity blah. Today is a new day and I have started it off very well. I woke up bright and early, did a couple of chores around the house and was out the door at 6:35 and walking to the skytrain. I love that I am able to walk there from my new place in a brisk 10-15 mins. The cold air really helps me wake up a bit and get ready to take on the day. Then I read my book on the skytrain (now that I have met my 52 books in a year goal I am free to take my time and read longer and more challenging books, I got “Les Miserables” for free on my kindle app, I was inspired to read it after seeing the movie yesterday which was incredible, but very sad.) Anyways, after that I got on the bus and got off a couple of stops early, mainly for tea and a bagel but it still counts. I know that a bagel is not the best option for me, but it was a 12 grain bagel at least, and I got butter and not cream cheese and I got my tea black so it is not too bad. I have almonds here to snack on during the day and I have some rice noodles to cook here that are not bad for a convenience food.

So I am going to recommit to my health and fitness goals, I had fun over the holidays (not to mention that I have been off the wagon a bit for a while) but now it is time to get serious about the goals that I have and make things happen for myself again. I want to lose about 20 lbs but mainly I want to be a healthier and more active person. I find that all aspects of my life are better when I take my health more seriously. I am going back to things that have worked for me in the past, logging my foods on MFP and also getting exercise every day in some way or another.

I really need to get back to the gym, but some days that is just not an option. Today I am working in Vancouver and that means I am out of the house from 6:30-6:30 so going to the gym is unlikely at this time, maybe once I get back on my game really good I might be able to squeeze in a workout before or after work but right now that is just not something I have been able to make myself do. Tomorrow I work in Surrey, but the gym opens late on Fridays and after work I pick up my son, again I could go, but I haven’t been so I need to try something else on days like these to at least kick-start my progress.

What I have done in the past is calisthenics in my office on my coffee breaks. Crunches, wall pushups, squats and tricep lifts. With my new job I have enough privacy to be able to do these exercises again in my office. It doesn’t take a lot of time, 10-15 mins and if I do it every day at least once a day I will feel a benefit for sure. I also find that one healthy habit builds upon another so if I can start with this one thing, then I am sure that I will be able to add more on in time.

For day one this is what I did for my exercise:

30 mins of brisk walking (in spurts to and from transit, will have this much walking at the end of my day as well)

20 wall pushups

30 crunches

30 reverse crunches

20 squats

20 tricep lifts

I will do some more exercise this afternoon and update again.

 

**Update** 3:52 and I did another set of the above.

Leave a Reply

