Fitness Log Day 15: 10/3/12

Last night I got on the scale. I just joined a “Biggest Loser” group on Facebook and I was going back and forth on whether or not I should weigh in. I know I have gained weight in the past year and I am not happy with that. I also know that if I continue to engage in healthy habits I will get the results that I want. The results that I want are not based on a number on the scale, but in being healthier and fitter. Likely the scale will also show a number lower than what I see now but it is not the be all end all. I have gained 5lbs since I started working out. When I saw that number I became very discouraged and went out and ate some junk food. I know that is not a rational way to react to the scale, but that is what happened.

However, I don’t know if avoiding the scale is the total answer. I know I still need to work on my eating habits. Sometimes I eat too little, then later I eat too much. I also eat too much sugar and not enough vegetables. Maybe weighing in will help me keep an eye on myself and it could be a reminder of what I need to work on. I will think about it over the next week and if I do decide to weigh in I need to remember that it is just a number and that if I keep working hard, I will reach my goals.

Today’s workout time: 6:45-7:30am at Gym

Workout: Elliptical 30 mins Rowing 10 mins

Energy before: 3

Energy after: 3.5

Comments: Seeing the scale today did motivate me to push harder at the gym. I did the glute burn function and kept it over 60RPM for the majority of the workout. I am working in an office today that is closer to my gym so I was able to squeeze in the rowing machine which feels great. I also have plans for a walk with a friend later (then a drink so likely it will just balance out, but a girl has to have a life too).

This is me this morning. I needed a starting picture for my “Biggest Loser” group. I think I have a ways to go but I am not looking too bad.

Leave a Reply

